Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah: Tribal Government

Paiute Tribe Administration Building

2018 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Special Election Information

2017 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Election Information

The federal government formally recognizes the Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah and its five constituent bands as Indian Tribal entities located within the boundaries of the PITU Tribal Reservation. [Federal Register July 12, 2002 (volume 67, Number 134, page 46330)]

The Paiute Tribe is organized under the provisions of the 1980 Restoration Act P.L. 96-227, the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, and the tribal constitution.

The Tribal Council is the governing body of the Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah. The PITU Constitution vests all executive and legislative power in the Tribal Council. (Tribal Constitution, Articles IV, V, and IX) All five constituent bands elect a Band Council and a Band Council Chairperson. Each Band Council Chairperson is a voting member of the Tribal Council, is elected to a four-year term, and meets regularly at least once per month. A Tribal Chairperson is elected by the general tribal membership to preside at Tribal Council meetings, to act as the tribe's official representative and spokesperson, and to manage the tribal government staff.

Local government authority that is vested in the Band Councils for the five constituent bands is significant. Band Council authority extends to land use management, community development programs, and business development.

2017 Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Tribal Council
Below from Left to Right: Corrina Bow, Mertin Bow (Cedar Band), Tamra Borchardt-Slayton (Indian Peaks Band), Patrick Charles (Shivwits Band), LaTosha Mayo (Koosharem Band)