PITU: 2009 Tribal Chairperson Election Results

Tribal Government Documents

Election Dates and Information


FROM: Betty Cuch, Election Chairperson Election Committee
TO: Tribal Council Members
DATE: April 8, 2009
SUBJECT: Results of Tribal Chairperson Election

The Tribal Chairperson Election was conducted on April 7, 2009. The election results are as follows:

1. Jeanine Borchardt  
2. Lora Tom  
3. Corrina Bow  
4. Charlotte Lomeli  
5. Elliott Yazzie  
Void Ballots 3

Jeanine Borchardt received the highest number of votes and is the new Tribal Chairperson. Lora Tom received the second highest number of votes and will serve as the Tribal Vice-Chairperson.

There was a three-way tie within the Indian Peaks Band for band vice-chairperson. As stated in Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah Tribal Constitution, the winner of the tie will be determined by coin toss.

All results were tabulated and witnessed by four members of the election committee, which included the Election Board Chairperson, the Tribal Administrator, the Human Resources Manager, and the Network Administrator. Other individuals witnessing tabulation were Kirby Jake, Ranae Pete, Harlan Featherhat, and Elyna Featherhat.